Easy Homemade Flour Tortillas

IMG_0440If I could use a tortilla wrap as a blanket, I would.  Sophomore year of college I probably ate a wrap everyday and they are something I do not get sick of.  This summer my mom and I have been experimenting with different homemade tortillas.  This recipe is our go-to.  It is simple and consistent.  These flour tortillas have a good chew to them and are sturdy enough to be piled high with all the goods.  I should know because I over fill every wrap I make and end up having to eat it taco style.  There is a short list of ingredients you always have on hand so there is no excuse not to try!

IMG_0441

 

Flour Tortillas

Yields: 16 tortillas

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup warm water

 

  1. Combine flour, salt and baking powder in the bowl of a standing mixer using the dough hook attachment.
  2. Add oil and water with mixer on medium speed, scraping down the sides as you go.
  3. When all combined, run mixer on low for 1 minute until the dough forms a ball and becomes smooth.
  4. Line a baking sheet with wax paper.
  5. Take the dough and divide in half, then divide each half until you have 16 total balls of dough.
  6. Take each ball and press into a disk onto the baking sheet cover with a tea towel and let rest for 10 minutes.  Do not stack the raw dough, they will stick.
  7. While the dough rests, heat up a cast iron pan.
  8. When the pan is really hot, take a disc and roll with a rolling pin to 6-7 inches in diameter and cook for one minute on one side or until golden spots show.  Flip and cook on the other side for about 30 seconds or until golden spots start to form.
  9. While moving onto the next disc, place each cooked tortilla onto a plate with a tea towel and keep covered while cooking.
  10. Serve warm or allow to cool for later use.  To reheat up, in a frying pan heat up some water and steam the wrap by placing a cooling rack over the pan and placing the wrap on top until it becomes pliable.

Notes:

A trick I use because I do not have a tortilla press is when I roll the discs I put a piece of parchment paper under and above it then roll.  I find it easier to peel off and transfer to the skillet.

I have subbed in Bob’s Red Mill’s cup for cup flour and it worked as well.  An easy way to make them gluten free!

Leave a Reply

