Foolproof Chocolate Chip Cookies

03BCCC6E-CB3D-44D0-90ED-EAADD3829657
If they all touch it counts as one cookie(-;

The first time I ever “blogged” was in high school when I took AP language, and I hated it.  Each week I had to think of something new to blog about and each week was a struggle.  Now 4 years later here I am back blogging.  Here is the first original food blog by yours truly,

Joan’s Cookies

End of the year, end of inspiration.  I was thinking to myself gee, how can people be bloggers for a living, what keeps the writing flowing?  To answer my own question like I always do, I thought of all the types of blogs I have been exposed to.  Teen drama?  Not really my forte.  Local news events? I will leave that to Anne Holiday.  Food?  Food.

It seemed almost too perfect of an idea.  I watch food TV shows all the time, read articles, recipes, bake, cook, eat!  To keep this food train rolling, I had to think of a food item everyone would love and be interested in enough to read and maybe even try.  And bam! It hit me like my sister’s tennis serve in the back of the head! (Don’t let anyone fool you, tennis is an intense sport)  I will share my family’s chocolate chip cookie recipe.  Quick, easy, sure to please.

Joan’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 2 sticks butter, melted
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 tsp. cream of tartar (or if you do not have cream of tartar replace cream of tartar and baking soda with three tsp. of baking powder)
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 2 2/3 cup all purpose flour
  • 12 oz. bag mini chocolate chips
  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit
  2. In a standing mixer beat sugars with butter (or if you want big baking arms, a wooden spoon and determination works too).
  3. Add eggs and mix to combine.
  4. Add remaining ingredients.
  5. Add chocolate chips.
  6. Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls 1 inch apart on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet.
  7. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until lightly brown.
  8. Cool slightly before removing to racks to finish cooling.  It makes approximately three dozen.

Try them.  When you do, call me, I like cookies.

Leave a Reply

